Research universities

Research universities are mainly responsible for offering research-oriented programmes in an academic setting.

Many programmes at research universities also have a professional component and most graduates actually find work outside the research community.

The research universities vary in size, with enrolments ranging from 6,000 to 30,000 students. Altogether they enrol some 240,000 students.

Duration of study programmes

  • Bachelor of Arts (BA): 3 years
  • Bachelor of Science (BSc): 3 years
  • Master of Arts (MA): 1-2 years
  • Master of Science (MSc): 1-2 years
  • PhD: 4 years

Research universities offering international degree programmes and short courses

Delft University of Technology

Eindhoven University of Technology

Erasmus University Rotterdam

Leiden University

Maastricht University

Nyenrode Business University

Open University

Protestant Theological University

Radboud University Nijmegen

TiasNimbas Business School

Tilburg University

University of Amsterdam

University of Groningen

University of Humanistic Studies

University of Twente

Utrecht University

VU University Amsterdam

Wageningen University and Research Centre

More information

Find international study programmes and courses offered by the research universities

Get an overview of the research universities on the website

last modified Apr 26, 2017 11:51 AM