About Holland

Learning about Holland's culture and society helps you to get to know the country and its people.

“The rest of the world is a big place”, says the Dutch, well aware of how small their country is. Although small in size, Holland has a rich cultural tradition.

Holland or the Netherlands?

The Kingdom of the Netherlands consists of four countries, the Netherlands itself in mainland Europe, and the islands of Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten in the Caribbean, as well as three special municipalities, the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, also in the Caribbean.

The country’s formal name is the Netherlands, meaning 'low countries' because much of the land is at or below sea level.

The Netherlands is also often called 'Holland', a name that refers to the area that is nowadays taken up by the two western coastal provinces, North and South Holland. In the 17th century, this was the most powerful area of the Dutch Republic and many people still use the name Holland to refer to the country as a whole.

Infographic - Why study in Holland?

Small - Infographic Why study in Holland

View infographic in full resolution

last modified May 04, 2018 07:03 AM